Tossed Salads and Scrambled Eggs

Tilikum Place Café – Belltown, Seattle

Posted on: Wednesday 25 May 2011

I’m on autopilot on weekday mornings. I can make my breakfast with my eyes half closed – scoop oats, measure milk, microwave, squirt honey, stir, wash blueberries, slice banana, pour cranberry juice, take vitamins. It is precise, efficient and done in silence.

But on weekends, I would sometimes wake up mumbling ‘pancakes, pancakes’. This is the cue for Mr S to call Tilikum Place Café to make a booking. Tilikum Place Café is a welcoming place – the staff are attentive and it has a homely feel. I’m enamoured by the gold leaf sculpture on the wall and the space and décor reminds me of a French bistro.

We had previously enjoyed the baked beans and eggs Benedict dishes, and they make a lovely espresso. As soon as we were seated, I eagerly ordered the sweet Dutch baby. It’s noted on the menu to allow for 15 minutes cooking time and the pancake can be sweet or savoury.

My Dutch baby is served in a cast iron skillet from oven to table. It has a cute handle protector and we’re warned it is extremely hot. The pancake is accompanied by a small pot of mascarpone and a balsamic glaze. I love the puffed edge – it is crispy, golden brown and buttery sweet. The centre is layered with apple slices and is sponge like and custard flavoured.

I ate half and my brunch companions grazed on the other half – it is best to share the happiness of the Dutch baby. Repeat after me – ‘pancakes, pancakes’!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tossed Salads and Scrambled Eggs and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

Categories

Archive

Creative Commons License
Tossed Salads and Scrambled Eggs is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
© 2011 Tossed Salads and Scrambled Eggs - all rights reserved