Tossed Salads and Scrambled Eggs

Molly Moon’s Homemade Ice Cream – Capitol Hill, Seattle

Posted on: Friday 06 May 2011

I had an ice cream craving on a dreary February day.

With Cupcake Royale and the Elliott Bay Book Company, I had Molly Moon’s Homemade Ice Cream on my Capitol Hill itinerary. I love their cute retro logo (a pastel turquoise colour?) and the simple décor with a chalkboard menu and wooden benches. On my first visit, I tasted the salted caramel which was a good balance of flavour but I selected a cup of the vivace espresso instead. It was a drizzly and quiet weekday so I sat inside watching the staff make fresh waffles as I gobbled spoonfuls of coffee ice cream.

On the second visit, it was a warm and sunny spring day and Seattleites have emerged from a long hibernation to be out and about on the weekend. We joined the queue that was out the door but thankfully it was fast-moving. I tasted both the Thai tea and coconut sorbet (vegan) flavours before ordering a scoop of the coconut in a waffle cone and Mr S had the strawberry, also in a waffle cone. We quickly exited the crowded shop and licked our ice cream as we walked around Cal Anderson Park soaking in the sunshine. The Thai tea flavour was a curious one – it was like a concentrated milky tea. I was surprised to find carob chips in my sorbet as it was not in the sample I had. While the coconut was refreshing, it became bland and icy after I had eaten about half of it and I greedily munched on the waffle cone for some sweetness.

1 Response to "Molly Moon’s Homemade Ice Cream – Capitol Hill, Seattle"

[…] the cold weather we both sipped a decadently thick Molly Moon’s Theo […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tossed Salads and Scrambled Eggs and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

Categories

Archive

Creative Commons License
Tossed Salads and Scrambled Eggs is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
© 2011 Tossed Salads and Scrambled Eggs - all rights reserved